Bukidnon, a rich tableland, is a landlocked province in Northern Mindanao. It occupies the extensive plateau in Central Mindanao that is bounded on the north and the east by Misamis Oriental; on the east by Agusan Province; on the south and southeast by Davao province; and on the southwest and west by Lanao and Cotabato Provinces.

The Province lies between the parallels 7o 25′ and 8o 38′ north latitude, and the meridians 124o 03′ and 125o 16′ east longitude, and has an area of 829,378 hectares representing 2.76 per cent of the country’s total land area. Malaybalay, the capital, is about 850 kilometers by air from Manila and 91 kilometers by road from Cagayan de Oro City.

Bukidnon is the only province in Mindanao that does not have a coast line. It is in the north central part of the island. Mount Kitanglad (2,938 meters), an extinct volcano, occupies the center and dominates the Bukidnon plateau. Mount Kalatungan (2,824 meters) and Mount Tankulan (1,678 meters) are the highest peaks in the southern part. The whole eastern and southwestern border adjoining Agusan, Davao and Cotabato are lofty mountains and densely forested mountains. Although the Province has lofty mountains, the greater part is a gently rolling grassland plateau cut by deep and wide canyons of the Cagayan, Pulangui and Tagoloan Rivers and their branches, and other rivers. At Mailag, 23 kilometers south of Malaybalay, the plateau begins to descend and gradually merges into the lowlands of Cotabato province.

Except for the southern part which is sedimentary and the limited alluvial plains along the larger rivers, the whole of Bukidnon is of volcanic origin-lava and igneous rocks. The low grassy hills east of the City of Malaybalay and those near the barangays of Maluko and Dalirig of the municipality of Manolo Fortich in the northern part, however, are mainly metamorphic (schist) rocks, some with cappings of limestones.